(Ref: Charaka Samhita)

Vaya denotes the examination of Age. It is divided into three types- Bala, Madhyama and Jeerna.

Age groupAge in YearsPredominant Dosha
BalaUpto 30 Kapha
JeernaAbove 60Vata

The examination of Vaya helps in knowing the diseases and Doshas which are specific to that particular age. It also helps in deciding the dosage and treatment procedures. For instance, Certain therapies are contraindicated for people in the Bala, Jeerna age group which are to be avoided. 

Leave a Reply