Ayurveda perceives the human body as a reflection of the universe. Every element present in the universe is also present inside each individual. The principles of Ayurveda are based on these innate laws of nature. 

As per Ayurveda:

“Dosha Dhatu Mala Moolam hi Shareeram”

That is, the Human body is composed of:

  1. Tridosha
  2. Sapta Dhatu
  3. Tri mala

The Pancha-mahabhuta represent themselves in the form of Dosha, Dhatu and Mala in the body. These 3 entities influence and work together with each other to provide harmony in the body. They are also called dushya as they destroy the body when not in equilibrium. It is therefore important to understand these fundamentals to lead a healthy life which suits and caters them.


Just like the sun, moon and wind behold the universe together by performing the function of promotion, destruction and movement respectively in the universe, It is the Kapha, Pitta and Vata that beholds the body together. 

  • Kapha represents the Moon.
  • Pitta represents the Sun.
  • Vata represents the Wind.

Together the tridoshas govern the physiology of the body. The principle of Tridosha is the most fundamental in Ayurveda, as all the treatment modalities revolve around this one.


The sapta dhatus are the structural entities in the body namely- Rasa, Rakta, Mamsa, Medas, Asthi, Majja and Shukra. They not only support the body, but also nourish it. 


They are represented as the waste products of the body and are produced in the course of metabolic activities in the body. They are of 3 types- Purisha, Mutra and Sweda.

According to Ayurveda- One whose Dosha, Dhatu, Mala and Agni are in equilibrium and their mind, soul and sense organs are in a pleasant state. Such a balanced state is called Health.

This Post Has One Comment

  1. Pranav Vinay

    This was enlightening. Well written 👏🏽 good job!

Leave a Reply